What Chintage are you?

366043643_o

Chintage, a combination of Chinese and Vintage, is a word I create for this fashion campaign. Chintage is a kind of phenomenon that Chinese old-fashion stuff gets popular.

The goal of this campaign is to create this kind of Chintage in the Melting Pot–New York City. I chose this city not only I am familiar with it but it is made up of 50% non-native residents, so it is generally a city that accept every culture. People here are open, and always ready to try something new and really cool. When Professor asked me about the cultural background that may get in the way of the popularity of the Chintage, I would say sometimes they don’t care the intrinsic cultural meaning when it comes to just a trend of fashion. People wear T-shirts that are full of Chinese characters they don’t understand, because they just think they are cool stuff. As long as it is not ideology or religious sensitive, I think it would be fine.

In order to make this a real phenomenon, I created both marketing plan and Public Relations plan for it. Here is what it would basically look like.The ultimate goal is not making profit but elevate the image of China.

If this program can be supported by my country, I think we are capable of releasing video commercials even on the giant screen of Time Square– to show the world Chintage has come. Also we can invite Talented Chinese designers or corporate with famous designers to put Chintage elements into their design. Exhibition is also a good way to show NYC the beauty and the real meaning of the Chintage, ensuring them to have a better understanding of this fashion. Moreover, we sell the Chintage stuff on line, with regularly promotions. How about a flash mob? People wear Chintage costume or accessories they show up and play a show which is full of Chinese elements. Events in places like Bryant Park is needed, too. I participated the event of “the taste of France”. It was great. I believe people would be interested in an event called “what Chintage are you?”

As for PR plannings, pitching the media, especially the fashion magazine is the top task. Since Asian faces in the fashion magazine covers are so limited, I think this is worthwhile. Of course, I want to create a Chintage that is not exclusive to western world, on the contrary, they can be put together harmoniously. The social media is definitely the most important channels since 100% people that care about fashion are engaged in social media networks. We are going to create official website on social media platforms like Facebook Twitter Instagram and YouTube . which are based on visual information.  Also, we want celebrities to wear our Chintage products as well as fashion bloggers write about this kind of unique fashion. They are opinion leaders and taste makers. Last but not the least, we should also engage the local community.

I hope you guys like this idea and I believe someday Chintage would come true.

 

Leave a comment